I love to write, not so keen on the editing thing. It is so important and I am getting better at it, but not really enjoying. The problem with editing is you read your work so much you forget all the good bits. I also often read what I want it to say rather than what it actually says. So I have started a new technique. I read my stories out loud to my kids. I am currently doing that with the Sequel to Obi the Super Puppy and the Mystery of the Red Mist. As I was reading last night I realised there is a big chunk missing… So back to the drawing board. In fact I think I need to rewrite the last four chapters. Grrrrrr! Well not exactly grr, because the story will be much better after. It’s just the time to do it. I promised myself a complete edit by the end of June. Now it looks like an edit, but without actually typing. Still it’s progress.

20130323_133335-1

Then while I was going through this I looked at my charms story and realised that needs to be redone. Why? Well simple because I had a better idea. This of course occurred to me in the middle of the night, while I should have been sleeping. So not I need to get that down before I forget.

In short editing remains a mystery to me, but I am learning. Any advice or stories from my fellow authors out there? Until next time – have fun!

