Check out Tug at work!

labsnlife

I often get asked what is a companion dog? So I thought I would try to explain. In the words of my six-year-old a companion dog is a BFF. I can’t really argue with her logic. Afterall that’s pretty much it in a nutshell. A companion dog is full of unconditional love. They don’t care about disabilities, appearance or any of that stuff. All they want is for you to pay them attention. In return they will give you their entire world. This simple act is part of the good nature of the Labrador Retriever, but it is also generated from their training. The Labs ‘n Life program is designed to ensure our dogs are responsive to all children. They can work with distractions and given time become very easy to work with.

So what does this mean in terms of autism?
Well basically we place a well-trained, calm dog…

View original post 198 more words

