My next character - Stitch!

My next character – Stitch!

What was your biggest takeaway from participating in the Winter Author Blog Challenge? What is your plan/strategy for integrating your social media platforms? What would you recommend to a new author who’s just getting started on social media?

Blog 15 already? Wow that means it’s the middle of March already… almost time to start writing reports. Thankfully I am more than half way through my chapter book as well. Report writing takes a lot of my sitting at a computer time. That is the one thing about writing. I love doing it, but I do get sick of sitting at a computer. Couldn’t work in an office.

Okay so my biggest takeaway from this challenge is that I’m not doing that badly. I have the foundations of an effective social media marketing plan. There are things I can do better, but overall I’m doing okay. My blog, face book, twitter and now Pinterest are working for me. They are all linked and set up nicely. My web page is also set up and links my social media and where my books can be purchase. I need to add my Pinterest to this, but will get the other half on to that soon.

I have said a few times I will be using the rest of the month to set up my marketing plan, I will still blog while doing that! Essentially my goals are to improve my amazon author page. I have linked this blog and my books. I have also updated the information on my books. So now I need to update the blogs for Amazon – the So You Think you Can guides and my listmanias. I will be doing this later in the month and have started setting them up. I am also going to participate more readily on goodreads. I have joined a new forum through my publisher and will be participating in that one. I am also looking to continue my Stitch Says blog for interviews and reviews. Hopefully I will fins a few more authors who will trade interviews / reviews because I would like some too.

Hopefully by the end of the month I will be launching my new book – The Homework Goblin, I am waiting for the cover, so not much more to go here. I am also hoping to have the draft of Obi the Super Puppy and the Quest for the Last Laugh completed. I am also edging another book – It’s What You Do Next That Counts. So my aim is to have that ready for editing by the middle of the year. What’s this got to do with marketing? Many authors have told me the best way to sell books is to have another one published. So I am working on it!!!!

Advice for authors just getting started on social media: find the avenues that suit you. Just because it works for someone else doesn’t mean it is right for you. Spend the time setting each one up individually then linking them together for ease. Connect with other authors through groups, forums and challenges. Participate as heavily as you can and enjoy every second of it! That’s the key. I have loved reading people’s comments on these posts and reading other posts. It’s a great way to learn and just o enjoy celebrating writing. I think that is about it for now. Will blog again soon, but signing off for the challenge in the only way I know how; with the help of my two favourite characters – Obi and Stitch!

Obi waves goodbye, Little Man Stitch watching his big pal!

Obi waves goodbye, Little Man Stitch watching his big pal!

Until next time – have fun!

