Today is my husbands birthday. the one thing we always do is have a special cake. My girls put in the order (often 6 months in advance) and I go crazy in the kitchen trying to make it. Over the years the girls have had mickey mouse, daisy duck, elmo, cookie monster, Little Miss Chatter Box and a princess cake. This year they made me work a bit harder. My eldest had Snow White and the Seven Smurfs on a Pirate Ship! My little one had Ariel. Now Ariel wasn’t supposed to be that hard. As always I was on a tight schedule and when attempting to cut the licorice for her hair I managed to chop off a piece of my thumb. Ariel very nearly had blood red hair!!!!

Any way my husband gets lucky, the girls pick his cake, often with the Halloween theme. Last year it was Scooby Doo, which turned out to be one of the easiest cakes I have made. This year he asked for a ghost to take to work and of course the girls wanted a witch. So here they are! Until tomorrow – have fun!

