Time for some shout-outs. This may mimic your acknowledgement page, but whom would you like to publicly thank for their help in creating your book or completing it to the point where it is presently?

I would like to make a big shout out to my big three. That would be My husband Ross and my two Daughters Maddy and Aijay. Without them I wouldn’t do any of the things I do. They make my life, hectic, overwhelming and of course complete. If I didn’t have them in my life there would be nothing to write about. They are my biggest supporters and my biggest critics. My two girls are in my Obi story and they love to have us read it to them. Of course they make lots of useful statements like:

“Mum we didn’t say that!”

“Mum Obi can’t talk,”

“Mum that’s silly!”

However they love it and take great pride in telling all their teachers, friends and friend’s parents that Mummy writes books and they’re in it!!! They also make demands now, so I have recently co authored a picture book with each. So look out for those in the near future. Maddy has ordered a sequel to Obi, which I am working on. She wants all the dogs involved, so lots more characters being written in. Aijay wants Stitch to have his own stories, so there may be a spin off series here! There will be lots of books we write together as well. I’m going to be busy for the rest of my life and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

As for Ross he puts up with me when I am in my zone of writing, and knows it’s not worth making conversation, just let me write. He also reads everything, eventually. I never put any pressure on him to do so, I try and avoid knowing when he is reading my books, then I don’t ask questions. He’ll tell me when he’s ready. He is also willing to be the butt of some jokes, particularly in the Obi book, he complains, but always has a smile on his face. It’s good to know I married to someone who can laugh at themselves! Not all the stories are true, by the way, although the book is written from Obi’s perception, so who knows.

There are lots of other people who help me with my books, my two (pretend) little sisters, Rochelle and Tam, other friends, family and associates. There are also my work colleagues, who know their dogs and possibly themselves will end up in a story sooner or later and they let me write them in willingly! Obviously the professionals I work with either independently or through the publishing company, but this is my opportunity to make a big shout out to my big three. Thank you and I love you with all my heart!!!

