What are the three most important things you are doing to grow your platform?

My next character – Stitch!

 

What am I doing to grow my platform – everything! Well I hope I am, to narrow it down to three things that I hope are the most important, or rather effective. Here goes:

Number 1: I am here on the author blog challenge – connecting with other authors, learning about their promotion ideas. Spreading the word about other authors and hopefully having them do the same. Trading reviews, interviewing authors, being interviewed. Hopefully getting the word spread about both of my books. It’s a lot of fun, and hopefully effective.

Number 2: Trying to sort out my social media – that would be the You Twit Face Thing. My links are found on this blog and hopefully I have now connected my You Tube, Twitter, Face book Page with my blog. So I guess to the three above I can add this blog, LinkedIn and more recently Good Reads. Once again I am starting to gain friends and connections, all of which hopefully help me spread the word about my books.

Number 3: I have recently tried a few promotion sites. The first was Ask David  – see the links in my website role. Here people can add their reviews of my books and hopefully a new audience will see my books and decide to buy. I have also signed up for a trial on a new book promotion site that I discovered through LinkedIn. I will keep you all updated on how that works out.

The next phase: Actually getting out and about – approaching schools, libraries, etc. that is probably the next step for me, I have been asked to do a few, but with work and family it is very difficult to find the time. I am hopefully starting with my kid’s school and kindy, this will at least give me some practice. I am completely open to other ideas!!!

As I mention I have made some connections through this challenge, to read my review of Yassa by Jo Michaels check out my book review page (under my Ashley Howland page), I will hopefully do more interviews and reviews in the future. If you are interested or would like to review my books please let me know.

That’s all for now, I’m off to be a You Twit Face again!

