Did you publish your book as a traditionally printed book, an eBook, or both? How did you come to your decision? Which company(ies) did you use for printing and distribution? How did you select them?

Back on the prompts for today – although still procrastinating on the reports. I live in hope that they will write themselves! Alright, time to focus. Both of my books were published by Strategic Book Group. They are printed on demand, here in Australia. There are also printing facilities in NZ and the US.

How did I come to that decision? They accepted my book! Well it really is that simple. I had tried publishing companies here in Australia, but not too many accept unsolicited manuscripts. I was going to look into self publishing, when Strategic accepted Ghostnapped on a trial contract. I had to sell 300 copies to prove myself. I managed that and they published my second book, where I was required to sell 100 copies before it went into print. I achieved that goal too!

I have heard lots of bad things about Strategic and I am not about to bag my publisher, I can see where they are coming from They are willing to give new authors a go, but it is up to you to prove that you can sell your books. Otherwise you need to pay for them to market and promote your book. This may seem absurd to some people, but why should they publish my book in the first place? I’m no one. No matter how good my books are, it is up to me to get my name out there and promote myself. Once the sales increase, then they will step in and work with me. My next book would be accepted under a different contract.

It’s a challenge, but at the moment it is suitable for me. I have a young family and my budget for creating and promoting my books is relatively small. Writing is after all a hobby. While I have limited time, I can do marketing and am slowly learning how to do that online. I’m sure there are advantages to self publishing, but there are also lots of things my publisher did for me at no cost. They set up WebPages to purchase my books, designed the cover, organised the text for printing, organised the printing, have given me some marketing tools and created press releases. All at no cost. Only time will tell if I am successful at achieving their goals, I will give it everything I have got!

