What has been the most challenging part of your book process: writing, building the book, printing, distributing, marketing, etc.? What do you wish you’d known before you began?

Marketing! Wow I never thought that word would take so much of my time. It is hard to imagine how much advice there is out there, but does any of it really work? As a new author you think that getting your book published is the hard part, but no, the marketing can really spin your head. Here are some things that I have tried:

I have a face book author page: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorAshleyHowland

Which is fun to update and as you can see is linked here to this blog, however people like to see the photos of the dogs and read the updates, but that doesn’t mean they have bought either of my books.

I have a YouTube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/Ghostnapped

I occasionally upload videos and certainly have the videos of my books that were made by the publishing company. Again, people like to see these things, but does not necessarily mean they will purchase my books.

Twitter: Ashley@AshleyHowland

I probably use Twitter the most, because I like getting short updates and it’s easy to use from my phone. It’s great to share photos while I am at work, because I can do it in my breaks.

Blogging!

Well I am getting in some practice here, so we will see if this is an effective marketing tool. This challenge is certainly a lot of fun and I enjoy reading what other authors have to say. I am also getting better at actually posting blogs, which is something I haven’t found the time for in the past.

Web page: ahowland.org

My web page is a working process, it is all there and works, but I have some great ideas to improve this site. However I need the assistance of my wonderful Husband to do this. He knows how to make and update webpages, but like me is very busy, so it will happen eventually.

Linkeden:

I have recently built an author profile (Ashley Howland) on this site and have joined a few groups, so I am getting some more information about successful marketing. Although sometimes there is too much information and I just don’t have the time to keep up. If you are on please feel free to connect with me, and share ideas.

Interviews:

I have recently completed some interviews, two of which can be found at:

1.  http://roxieh.wordpress.com/2012/06/07/spotlight-ashley-howland/

2. http://www.writersblockadminservices.co.uk/author-interview-ashley-howland/

Thanks to Roxie and Jo for these fantastic interview! I have also done a few more that will be posted in the next few months.

Promotional Material:

I have a small supply of stickers, postcards, posters and of course business cards available to give to people. Again it is getting these things out across the world to actually promote my books. They have been great at schools.

Reviews:

I have had one review of Ghostnapped – Thanks Jo Michaels, and am sourcing other reviews for both my books.

Amazon:

My books are on Amazon and this is linked to my face book page.

I am also looking into doing some school visits, but as I am a working mother, these are very difficult to fit into my schedule. Writing is a hobby, but could easily dominate my time if I let it; I would rather spend my spare time actually writing!

It is all a learning process and through groups like this one and the fantastic advice I have had from other authors I am learning. Just never really thought about this side of having a book published!

My biggest issues with marketing are time and money. I have limited stores of both, so I do the best I can. If anyone has some more ideas I would love to know, what works and what is a waste of time?

