Describe your editing process. Who edited your book? What was your relationship with your editor like? What could each of you have done to improve it? What might you do differently in the future?

Wow, editing, mmmm I really think we have a love / hate relationship. It is such a long process, one that in some ways I enjoy and in others I really dread. The things I dread are:

  • Looking for needles in haystacks – typos, punctuation, grammatical errors, that may not even be there.
  • Reading what you think you have written, but not what is actually on the page.
  • Re – reading your own work, over and over again until it all blurs into one and sounds terrible.

The things I like are:

  • Finding the missing pieces of the puzzle – making the story come together neatly.
  • Finishing a draft and re visiting it from a new point of view
  • Finally seeing my manuscript as an actual book.

Of course in order to reach that last part there is a lot of work. I actually did an editing course to improve my skills in this area. So I have learnt a lot, still have a lot to learn. However my process starts with me. Once a draft is finished, I do an edit, which means reading my story out loud and correcting aspects as I go. Once this is done then I will get someone else to read my story, this may be my husband, a friend or I will get it assessed. Following this will be another read and edit, much like the first, but now with the input of others.

Once these steps are complete it is usually time to send it off to the publisher and see if they will accept the manuscript. My publisher has provided me with an editor each time and they do their edit. Once I accept their changes then its three revisions to get it right! At this point in time I try to get a friend to read through as they often spot things I have missed. It is quite a process.

This process has worked, it’s a lot of work, but I really don’t think there is another way. Of course if I am wrong or if anyone has any really good ideas about editing I’d love to know!

